Ladies of the Lake Retreat

The drive to Lake Panorama was so pleasant.  The colors of fall were beautiful and the anticipation of 2-1/2 days of quilting was grand.

Linda and I at quilt retreat

Linda and I at quilt retreat

I am so fortunate that my sister, Linda, enjoys going with me.  Here we are all set up!

Comforts of Home

Comforts of Home

I couple years ago I started just taking UFOs with me.  If that is all I bring, I work on them!  I actually finished one!  This quilt was a block of the month at the Adel Quilting and Dry Goods several years ago.

Another quilter finished this!

Another quilter finished this!

When I dig out the UFOs to pack them.  I always check if there is something I need to take along to help with the finishing.

Another gal finished a quilt top!

Another gal finished a quilt top!

It is always fun to discover why I quite working on a project.  As for the Comforts of Home, I had reached the outer appliqué work!

Interesting way to move fabric into the border.

Interesting way to move fabric into the border.

As I started organizing all the appliqué equipment, I thought about it and went to work on it at home. It was so nice to have the dreaded  four appliqué blocks done before I left home.  I love motivation!

patriotic pineapple

patriotic pineapple

The above quilt comes from a pattern I have written and taught a couple times.  I love her fabric choices!  My pineapple quilt was done to use up scraps, but I keep being inspired to do it with other color sets.  I was introduced to a fun way to do the pineapple quilt pattern a few years ago at this retreat.  Rather than doing paper piecing, you cut your pieces a little large, and continually square up.  If you do not sew perfectly, the block still turns out perfect.

  • One gal was getting ready for a new grand!

    One gal was getting ready for a new grand baby!

I did not get good pictures of all the projects that got finished by others.  I am always impressed with others creativity and skill.

wool work

wool work

The above wool project was the result of a class on embroidery.  Didn’t she do a great job!  I want to try it.  But can I start a new hobby?

fall flannel comfort

fall flannel comfort

The above quilt was planned, but it made me think about doing another simple scrap quilt.   I trust that you take advantage of retreats in your area.  NO COOKING!  No, “I really should do this before I go to the sewing room.”

The drive home from retreat was even better than the going.  The sun was out and caused the fall colors to sparkle.  Of course, I was also all pumped up from spending time with 40 women who have the same passion that I do!

One response

  1. I am enjoying the retreat all over again after looking at your blog! We did have a good time! I so want to get in the sewing room but will hurry to get “things” done so I can!! Thanks for the good times we have!

Leave a Reply

