MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND YOURS!

Jim Shore's Caroler's

Jim Shore’s Caroler’s

When Jim Shore started designing figurines with quilt patterns, did he have any idea how huge the quilt world was?  I love vintage Christmas decorations, but these carolers had to be added to my collection.  Our church’s Ladies Night Out had a Vintage Christmas theme.

My chair and angel

My chair and angel

My daughter-in-law was on the planning committee and told the lady in charge of table decorations to get in touch with me.   My vintage carolers  and angels were just little guys on most of the tables, but she had great resources to make each table special and unique.  I wish I could say the matt was also mine.

An angel our family made 40 some years ago

An angel our family made 40 some years ago

The atmosphere set the stage for great food and a meaningful program.  It was so special to spend a few hours with friends and share the true meaning of the season.  While you are hustling around this month, do you have moments when you wonder, just how would Jesus want us to celebrate his birth?  I know I do each year.

What a simple, fun centerpiece!

What a simple, fun centerpiece!

We eliminated some of the hustle as we are not buying gifts (that no one needs) for our family.  Instead we are all saving that money for a long week-end together in late January.  I feel so liberated!  Have I gotten more other things done?  No, but I am much more relaxed.

Early Stack-N-Wack

Early Stack-N-Wack

My small group had our little party earlier this month.  Their surprise project was to make a wall hanging like the one above, but it was to be a little more current fabrics.  The pattern above was in a magazine years ago when Stack-N-Wack made its debut.  Ours were to be done with fabric designed by Jinny Beyer.  She is one of the queens of borders and medallion quilts.  You will see our projects on a future post.

block

We did learn how to cut repeats and sew a stack of 6 together.  Then we cut out the triangles.  The above it what I did with the scraps.  I could cut out 1-1/2″ squares in multiples of 6!  It was grand.  Then I cut out cream squares and laid it all by my machine.  They became my starts and stops.   I walked by the Christmas suitcase and saw this black fabric peeking out!  Perfect!  I made blocks until I ran out of the red squares.

Started with scraps

Started with scraps

Tada!  A small Christmas quilt.  It now graces my design wall and make the sewing room look festive!  And fabric came out of the Christmas stash.

Christmas snow balls

Christmas snow balls

Above is one on my first Christmas quilts.  It was for my grandsons crib at my house some 13 years ago!  You can also see some Christmas candles in the picture above.  Don’t all our decorations bring back memories as we get them out.  I remember seeing these in the stores when I was a little girl.  To add to the memory these were purchased when sister and I were on one of our antique outings.  I do wish you many happy happy memory makers this Christmas!

gingerbread house

If your season gets a little hectic, try this centerpiece.  It should earn a smile and laugh from your guests!

One response

Leave a Reply

