SEVEN YEAR QUILT

Last time I posted about a five year quilt.  This time it is a seven year quilt but for a different reason.  This quilt has been in the making for seven years.

Quilt that matches my bedroom.

Quilt that matches my bedroom.

It is a monster as it is for my king sized bed.  And it is not finished yet!  I will have over 400 inches of binding to add.  I guess it is a longtime until next winter when we will need a quilt.  I should mention that the cream corner squares will disappear.  This is to be a T-quilt as I have bed posts.  The cream squares were there just to make it easier for the quilter.

IMG_6626 IMG_6625

Great quilting and a little fussy cutting

Great quilting and a little fussy cutting

I am showing you a few blocks so that you may appreciate the fussy quilting and the block technique.  The quilt blocks come from a class I taught years ago: Penny Haren’s Pieced Appliqué.  I made a shop sample and then taught the technique three times for Adel Quilting and Dry Goods.    For each class I made new sample blocks.  One set is still in a box.  There is a plan for them…….someday.

nice quilting on the geese

nice quilting on the geese

The layout includes the flying geese as I wanted to do something different this time around.

Inspiration

Inspiration

This is the quilt that inspired me to use the geese, but I could not get myself to make so many.   I believe the above quilt was done my Mary Shotwell.  Hers turned out much nicer as my geese have blunt stops and hers flow.

back of my quilt

back of my quilt

The backs of my quilts often get the left over fabric and the fabrics that weren’t quilt right for the front.

Label quilting into the quilt

Label quilted into the quilt

I also got the label right into the quilt back.   This quilt was my “Get-R-Done” project for 2013.  It did leave my house before the end of 2013.  I have yet to start working on my ‘Get-R-Done”  for 2014.

Penny Haren Pieced Applique

Penny Haren Pieced Applique

The above quilt is the original Penny Haren quilt and was made to match the book cover.  The one below is the one done using blocks from both books one and two.

Penny Haren's books 1 and 2

Penny Haren’s books 1 and 2

I am enjoying sitting on my porch as we begin this holiday week-end.  I hope to do a lot of it!  And maybe move some flowers from flats to the ground!  Enjoy your time of remembering those who sacrificed so that we may enjoy our free country.

The beginning of Memorial Day

The beginning of Memorial Day

Memorial Day was started by former slaves on May, 1, 1865 in Charleston, SC to honor 257 dead Union Soldiers who had been buried in a mass grave in a Confederate prison camp. They dug up the bodies and worked for 2 weeks to give them a proper burial as gratitude for fighting for their freedom. They then held a parade of 10,000 people led by 2,800 Black children where they marched, sang and celebrated.

One response

Leave a Reply

