Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler

My small group and I are trying some paper piecing.  We began with the most simple of the blocks of Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler.  While I am cutting out my fabric, I go ahead and cut enough for everyone.  The most time consuming part seems to be selecting the fabric.  Now I do it for my friends!  This way the ladies can see how the fabrics go together and alter their block as they choose.  I have also discovered some very simple regular machine piecing blocks.  You will be able to watch our progress and also see when our enthusiasm wears out!

This weekend, a sister and a friend are joining me on a trip to the Grout Museum in Waterloo for their annual Cabin Fever Retreat.  It is always so fun.  The speaker/teacher this year is Kathy Tracy who writes books of doll quilt patterns.  I have her books and have made one of her quilts.  I have signed up for one of her classes.  During free sewing time I am taking along a doll quilt I started there the year Jo Morton was the teacher/speaker.  I have found that the best way to get a project done, that has been sitting around for a while, is to take it to a retreat.  You have no choice but to work on it.  When I get it out it is always fun to try to figure out   what made me stop working on it.

I must add a “Happy Last Day in the Working World”  to sister Linda who retires today!  Yea!  More time to get together and more time to do what you enjoy!

I think I also need to say that I need a little work on inserting pictures in the correct way!

 

Leave a Reply

