Another Kathleen Tracy Quilt

On another post I mentioned that three of us went to Waterloo, Iowa, where Kathleen Tracy was the speaker/teacher.  At the class she taught us Clarissa’s Garden which was pattern #3 of The American Schoolgirl Club.

Linda's done first!

Once again, Linda was the first to finish her quilt top.  She was good to share tips on how to get it put together correctly.

4 generations of the Lee women

Carolyn finished hers second and she got real creative.  She inserted a picture of 4 generations of women, of which she is the youngest, what a special way to incorporate a memory into a quilt.  Carolyn also takes the time to hand quilt her projects to make them even more special.

Marge's Clarissa Quilt

My came in last!  And I did machine quilting and as you can see from the picture, the binding is still in progress.  Kathleen taught her method of applique which reminded me a lot of Karen Kay Buckley’s technique.  I was fortunate to be able to take two of Karen’s classes a year ago.  I really like to use her ideas.

Wendy Zohrer in Victoria dress

In addition to finishing up two small quilts this past week, I attended my Quester’s meeting.  I have been a member for a little over a year and so enjoy the ladies and the information gained from each meeting.  This past meeting was held in a beautiful old mansion in Des Moines, Iowa: The Westly Home.  The speaker came from another Quester’s group and spoke on the Victorian Age.  She even dressed for the event.  She said that she was in the third stage of mourning, and purple would be appropriate.  She even showed us the garments under the full skirt!  The poor picture is my fault.  Wendy liked to walk around and I was using my phone camera.

sewing eggs

One of the antique items that she shared was of real interest to me was the sewing eggs.  When your fingers would get stiff, you would roll it around in your hand to relax the muscles.  It worked as I was sewing on a binding while she spoke!  I should mention that she told me that I was not being proper as we were in the formal front parlor and a true lady would not do her sewing there!  She would do it in the back parlor!

Victorian Crazy Quilt

Of course you could not talk about the Victorian Age without a Crazy Quilt and she had a lovely one.  The quilt was done in blocks and then put together.  Her silk was holding up quite well.  The other quilt she brought with her was a Court House Step quilt with a lot of silk in it.  She shared how this version of a Log Cabin Quilt, was part of the Underground Railway.  The black centers would indicate that the house was not a safe house at that time.  If a quilt, with the centers of the blocks done in red, had been outside, it would indicate that the house was safe for a running slave to enter.  I bit my tongue, as I was in the front parlor of this Victorian home.  At our next meeting I will share with our members how this theory is thought, by most quilt historians, to be incorrect.  There is no historical record of the Log Cabin block prior to the Civil War.  To protect themselves, those involved in the safe houses would know very little or nothing about other members.  Also, if you were traveling in the dark of night, would you be able to see if the centers of  blocks were red or black?  Another thought I had was who would leave a quilt out to dry overnight?   I am sure this debate will go on.

This week I will be working on the 6 blocks of Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler for myself and my small group and I hope to start a quilt for a graduation gift.  No, it is NOT a t-shirt quilt!

Leave a Reply

