Doll Quilts and Round Top, Texas

Thanks to my daughter in-law for making Easter dinner.  I returned from a fun antique trip just in time for a day of rest and then the special day of church and family.

The antique trip took me to Texas and a week of shopping.   No, my husband was not along!  My first stop was Canton, Texas (near Dallas) and a flea market the only way Texas can do it, BIG.  Brother Roger and wife Linda were among the vendors.  I did buy one antique quilt top there and will show it in a later post.  The most I found there was new stuff.  After a day and a half at this small town I moved further south to Round Top, which is a tiny town between Austen and Houston.

This antique show started with 20 some venders and has now grown to 20 some miles of venders.  The small towns on H-237 are full of venders, but along the highway you will find what was once a cattle pasture has now become a city of huge tents and antique venders.  It was my first time there and I was thankful that another brother had advised me just where the best shopping was.

My main mission was antique doll quilts, but I am easily persuaded to pick up other treasures.

A Crazy Postage Stamp

I had only seen one until my last day and then Wow!  We found three at the Red Barn and also got a tip of where there might be more!  The above doll comfort (tied with yarn) is made of wool and the pieces are about stamp size.  The stitches are very common on crazy quilts of the late 1800’s.  The back is silk and reduced to shreds, which makes me think it is the silk weighted with lead.  It makes me so wish the maker had added her name and the year. But I must confess that not all of my quilts are labeled.  The vender had it posted on the foam board and shrink wrap covering it.  The shrink wrap was very dusty which made me very thankful for it.

Flower doll quilt 7 x 7-1/2 inches

The next quilt is a tiny one which has caused my mind to really wonder…could it be something else?  This quilt is hand pieced and hand quilted.  The binding is almost worn more than the quilt which makes me believe it is the original.  It is about the size of a potholder, but it would not have been, as it has no batting.   So this is where the mind began to wonder.  I had recently been reading in the new book, “Civil War Quilts” by Pam Weeks and Don Beld.  In the book the term ‘Potholder Quilts’ was used to describe quilts made by ladies for the soldiers.  At home, a lady would make a block, bat and back it,quilt it, and do the binding.    Then, as a group, the ladies would whip stitch the blocks together.   Could I have found a special part of American history?  As mine has no batting and is not a perfect square, I need to stop day dreaming.  Back to reality, it is more likely a sample or left over block that became a doll quilt and was much treasured and used.

April blocks of Sylvia's Bridal Quilt

Reality also says it is the second Tuesday of the month and my friends are at my house to quilt.  They receive four more blocks that I have cut out for them, but they need to do the ones that cannot be cut with a rotary cutter.  They cut the Grape Basket and the Grandma’s Flower Garden.  They will hand piece those two.

Donna's winter project

Our snow bird, who spent the winter in Arizona, seemed to get more done then the rest of us in a snowy Iowa.  We all loved this one and want to make it.  She had two other projects done but I forgot to get out the camera.  Good job, Donna!

My next post will have more doll quilts as we found some from a lady who was down sizing her collection!  I would love to see her entire collection!

Leave a Reply

