QUILT MARKET – Spring 2012 – part 4

block at market entrance

I keep finding pictures I want to share and inspire.

Favorite applique at market

APPLIQUE:

A NEW challenge to all applique folks.  I did not even buy the pattern, but I absolutely love it!  It comes from Patchwork with Busyfingers of Australia.  I bought a pattern that was not quite so challenging, but I cannot find it!  It is called Lancaster.  Does that indicate that a lot came home with me?  I am afraid it did not come home with me and was left in another vender booth.

Marcus Fabric’s new eagle fabric

BORDER FABRIC

I am a real sucker for border fabric and strips.  I want three yards of this one.  I love the eagles.  You will want this!  People wonder if it is applique!  It is by Marcus Fabrics.  If you own a shop, you need a bolt of this!  Maybe two!

Another quilt with eagle sashing

Here is the same fabric in another quilt.  I saw this in a school house done by Red Crinoline Quilts (formerly Bonnie Blue Quilts).  Paula Barnes and Ellen Robison did this class on “Don’t be Afraid of Border, Stripes, Plaids & Directional Prints”.   This was a fun session, as they showed many quilts they have made over the years and how they created interest by using the variety in fabric types.  I was inspired to use the stash of these that I already have.

Homespun is still home warming

Here is one to remind us of our box of homespun.  Next time I need a guy quilt, this might be it and I would not have to buy fabric!  The gals showed this to remind us that in quilts the plaids can get big or not in a perfect line and still make a charming quilt.

Tube quilt all made with scraps.

After all this inspiration, I worked on something very simple for my friends to learn next week.  I do believe I was visiting another planet when the tube concept hit the quilt world.  I did buy a book a year ago and finally tried it out.  I went to my drawer of 2-1/2″ scraps and whoa-la!  All I had to cut was the setting blue.  I almost had enough WOF strips to do the entire quilt.  Then I pieced a few strips to make them work.  I can see this as an easy guy quilt for the next graduate!  I would leave out the flowers!

Now that I am sharing about my stash and scraps, I need to confess my plans for the future:  Which quilting friend has been instructed as to how your quilting stuff will be distributed?  Don’t expect your family to have a clue!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

