Merry Christmas to You

Our family starts arriving tonight, and I have been able to forgo the sewing projects that I still wanted to get done.  I need to spend today in my kitchen.

Olivia Jane

Olivia Jane

Our latest addition is the only one receiving a quilt this year.  Her quilt was a challenge as today’s styles are not the same as those of us grandmothers.  She is yet to have a bedroom of her own so I did feel a lot of freedom in selecting the fabrics.

Simple pattern, pretty fabric

Simple pattern, pretty fabric

I had never done prairie points and found them fun to do.  They also emphasize the triangles throughout the quilt.

Iowa State vs. Nebraska

Iowa State vs. Nebraska

My adult men have pillow cases made of their favorite team fabric.  Their other gifts are stuffed into them and a bow is added.  One package for each adult has made my wrapping and our opening so much easier.  The grandchildren get two packages.  I am sure my creative friends have found great ways to do their gifts also.

aprons for the little kitchen helpers

aprons for the little kitchen helpers

We will have 5 guests K-age and younger!  They are so fun and will be so excited!  Usually one or two appear when it is time to knead bread.  As my granddaughter says, “We get to make a big mess!”  Recently I had to explain that we do not knead sugar cookie dough.

The view from our kitchen table

The view from our kitchen table

In Iowa we have had a couple nasty snowy days, but today the sun is shining and the snow is beautiful.  May you have a beautiful Christmas with your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

