Staying warm? Bind a Quilt

45813_292671360859909_333392212_nThis would be a great day in Iowa to be binding a quilt and find an old movie on TV.  I could watch Dayton Abby again as I have recorded all of season 3.  Right now I have a sad attitude for the series.  What can they do in season 4 to make me happy again?  Unfortunately I do not have even a table topper ready for binding.

Sylvia's Bridal Sampler

Sylvia’s Bridal Sampler

Currently I am working on the placement of the Sylvia blocks.  I have made several sampler quilts so I want this layout to be different.  I am liking the medallion look for this one.  The book has 140 blocks.  I think my friends and I have done 72 of them.  With this setting it will be a queen sized if I add a border.  It does not take all 72 blocks either, for which I am thankful.  Not all blocks turned out 6-1/2″ raw.  I am good at fudging, but there are limits!

We learned from Penny Haren to frame the blocks with a 2″ border than square up the blocks to 8-1/2″ raw.  No one, except a judge, would notice that not all the frames are a perfect 1″

I am trying not to do this technique on this project, but I have used it before.  The setting blocks are a perfect 6-1/2″ raw because I made them large and then trimmed them.  I am willing to skimp on the 1/4″ SA on the sample blocks.  I have read that the early quilters used 1/8″ SA.  If I go that small I make the stitches smaller and add a little ‘no-fray’ to the SA.

As I am putting the blocks together I am also working on protecting points.  Some blocks have gotten a little re-working/re-sewing.  Of course then there is the dot-to-dot sewing.  You might know of it as point-to-point sewing.  Of course this leads a judge to say, “Straight seams should be straight.”

Finished crib quilt

Finished crib quilt

Others helped finish up the crib tumbler.  Now that the orange border is in place I feel a sense of balance.  I also think this might balance the tastes of a grandma and a mother.  Us grandmas like the old fashioned tumbling blocks and the moms might enjoy the more current prints and colors.

Last time I posted I mentioned that 2 of my guest beds were displaying works in progress.  Alas, recently all three guest beds were in use.  It was a fun winter break to have family in town.  They were from Louisiana and the 11 year old loved the little snow that we had at the time.  Now I have to remember where I stashed the WIP.

The bronchitis that followed was not a fun break in winter. But it does make one thankful when they are healthy again!

day complete

One response

  1. Gosh, I’m so sick of winter too. We got about six inches here again and enough is enough. I love your Sylvia blocks. I’m working on that quilt too, but making all the blocks. I find the directions to be challenging in some blocks, and I know that I’m going to have to do some framing because a couple of my blocks are a little wonky!

Leave a Reply

