Geometric shapes

My friends were at my home again and they had been working!  Should I call quilting work?  Sometimes it is when we are finishing a project.  Beginning a new one; never!

Sandi's gift to granddaughter

Sandi’s gift to granddaughter

First Sandi has a granddaughter getting married and has been working on shower gifts.  Wow!  She admitted that some of the patterns were simple, but don’t they show off the fabric.  And I am thinking that this young generation likes this style.  Won’t they warm up a new homestead?

Joyce's tumbling blocks

Joyce’s tumbling blocks

Joyce finished piecing her tumbling blocks.  In my last post I shared how these are all done by machine and are vertical seams with a seam going through the top of each block.

Embellishment on Carol's

Embellishment on Carol’s

I think I have shown you Carol’s before but now it is done and embellished!  Won’t it be fun to have something new to get out in December to decorate or give?  When I first made this pattern, I tied a piece of candy to each ribbon.  It was to be a count down until my grandchild would be coming to my house.  Aaron either was excited to come or just liked the candy as my daughter shared that the candy disappeared a little a head of schedule!

Diane's crib quilt in tumbling blocks

Diane’s crib quilt in tumbling blocks

A week ago I taught this technique in a local shop.  One of my students went right home and finished it!  Hers is a crib quilt and so cute!  On Diane’s you can see the vertical seams of the background fabric.  You just cut one end at a 60′ angle and attach it to the top of a block.

English fabric from 1850

English fabric from 1850

While sharing tumbling blocks I want to take a step back in time.  This fabric was available in 1850 and yes, it is a cheater fabric!  I would love to have yards of it, but will be content with a picture of history.

Antique show quilt

Antique show quilt

Yesterday I was able to attend an antique show and enjoyed seeing many lovely antique quilts.  I am fairly good at resisting to buy them.   This one really caught my eye.  I want to say it is newer than the above cheater fabric.

detail of sashing fabric

detail of sashing fabric

I am trying to zoom in on the red sashing as I guess the horse shoes would be a good clue to date this quilt.  The conversational fabrics really peaked at the turn of the century (1880-1910).  I also  spot the mourning fabrics of black and gray.  Black was not stable on cotton until the turn of the century.  Queen Elizabeth lost dear Prince Albert and went into formal mourning.  The Americans might not have gone into mourning, but they did follow English fashion.

Several years ago I was designing  and making doll quilts to corresponding with the American Girl dolls and books.  The one below was for Samantha who was nine years about 1904.  I love the history the little girls learn by reading the books.  As a grandmother, I enjoyed the quilt history that goes with each one of the dolls.  I had to do some research to make them time period correct.  Samantha’s grandmother was wealthy so she could have bought new fabric for the project.  However, I don’t think a quilt would have been used as a bedspread in the fancy home!

Turn of the Century doll quilt

Turn of the Century doll quilt

For this quilt I did use a lot a shirting and was able to use a couple conversational prints.  I also made a real scrappy one for which I cannot find a picture.  My photos are not as organized as my fabric, which is borderline!

Leave a Reply

