Adel, IA, Little Sisters Quilt Show 2013

The weather this morning was perfect for a quilt show.  I did not get pictures of every quilt as some were hard to get the camera to.  I also had trouble with some of the names, but you will get to enjoy viewing many quilts.  They are in no particular order, but I did get to vote for my three favorite.  And it was hard.

Interesting use of strips for star points/

Interesting use of strips for star points

Wow job, Carol Pizaili

Wow job, Carol Pizaili

In addition to seeing awesome quilts, I also picked up a new name for long arm work.  That is always helpful!

Another one by Carol P.

Another one by Carol P.

I could see this one hanging in my house in January through March,

Cyndi C. did this one for a daughter to take to college

Cyndi Craigmile did this one for a daughter to take to college

Cyndi C. went over the top on this one!

Cyndi Craigmile went over the top on this one!

Debra Semmons has spent a lot of time on this one and I think her mother gets it.

Debra Semmons has spent a lot of time on this one and I think her mother gets it.

It is hard to see the dimension of Debra’s quilt.  The flowers are folded and have a bead in each center.  It earned BEST OF SHOW!

I should also mention that I did take pictures of some of the names to get them recorded, but I still might not be spelling them correctly.  I might have to do some editing.

Jackie Orton had don this as a mystery quilt.

Jackie Orton had done this as a mystery quilt.

The hardest part of  a mystery quilt is selecting the fabric.  Good job, Jackie!

Jackie Orton's second quilt

Jackie Orton’s second quilt

Joyce Steind did a better job with this pattern than I did.

Joyce Strand did a better job with this pattern than I did.

The choice of fabric is everything.  I think more important than the pattern.  Some simple patterns turn out so striking.

Juanita Coulter made an old pattern sparkle!

Juanita Coulter made an old pattern sparkle!

Judy Luthe did well with a Jo Morton pattern.

Judy Luthe did well with a Jo Morton pattern.

Doesn't outside make a perfect drop for a quilt picture?

Doesn’t outside make a perfect drop for a quilt picture?

Margaret Beal always has a treasure in the show.

Margaret Beal always has a treasure in the show.

Margaret also did a Penny Haren pattern.

Margaret also did a Penny Haren pattern.

Nancy Hagelburg picked up the fabric on a bus tour.  Blk/wt at every shop

Nancy Hagelburg picked up the fabric on a bus tour. Blk/wt at every shop

pinwheels

This is a quilt as you go pattern.

This is a quilt as you go pattern.

Rita Meyer took on a challenge.

Rita Meyer took on a challenge.

string

 

The above Batik Stripy was done by Rozetta Fiscus.  I so want to make this one.  Simple is beautiful!

Mine, which you have seen before

Mine, which you have seen before

One response

  1. Would love to know or any links to instructions for the quilt-as-you-go orange peel quilt! I love the ’30’s look fabrics and am wanting to know more about quilt-as-you-go process.
    Thanks for any information.

Leave a Reply

