A NEW YEAR AND NEW IDEAS

I trust that you had a great Christmas time and are now recovered from all the commotion. It takes awhile for my house to recover. new year Part of why it takes so long is that I have to find things back.  I put so much away to make room for Christmas and then I have to find just where I put it.

Ready for hot water and soap bath

Ready for hot water and soap bath

After about 10 days of thinking of where and searching I found two boxes well hidden so they would not get broken. I remember the days of spring and fall deep cleaning. Those days are long past. But my things do get a good dish soap washing when they come back out in January. The furniture gets an oil treatent also. good place January is also a time to plan and set goals for the coming year.  Just what will I spend my time sewing and quilting?  For the last couple years my small group has had each member declare a get-r-done project.  I had set two for this past year.  One of them did come back from the quilter in December and now it is bound.  The issue is, that it was a nice quilt but nothing real special.  I spent a lot of $$$ having it quilted and now I wonder if it was worth it.  Just where do I want to invest my time and money?  Is there a reason that I stopped working on the quilt?  Could I have finished it in a less expensive way and put it to good use?

A once in a life quilt

A once in a life quilt

This year I have asked the ladies to think about a quilt they have always wanted to make, but have put it off. We easily get distracted by a new idea or a challenge or something the group is doing.  You might even have bought the fabric for it, dreaming of making that special quilt.  The above quilt is one of those.  My friend Clarene has finished the top and is now working with her ‘winter in Texas friends’ to get it hand quilted.

A lot of hand stitching getting started

A lot of hand stitching getting started

I have several in mind, but need to decide which one to take on for 2015.  The above photo is that of a quilt I started two years ago, and has been put on hold.  I do want to spend some time on it, but I also want to do that special quilt.  I will post progress on both quilts.  I also need to post what our small group is planning to learn by doing.

IMG_7566

Easter bunny apron

Easter bunny apron

As for distractions.  I recently did a short program on APRONS.  The above is one in my collection and I have thought a few times of reproducing it.  Another lady asked for the pattern.  Yesterday I went to a print shop to photo copy all the sections on big sheets of paper and come up with a pattern.  This is exactly what I have asked the group to not allow!  Stay focused on our goals!  But I do have a granddaughter who would look so cute in it!

Another way to hand quilt

Another way to hand quilt

My friend, Clarene, that finished a Grandmother’s Flower Garden quilt top is working on hand quilting another one.  May you enjoy many relaxing minutes of hand stitching.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

