I So want to be Sewing

7954fd3b108f1246b72c7218c7d03cf5

However this is what I am doing:

 

IMG_8238

I am washing Nick-Knacks.  How boring.  Every Nick-Knack and a lot of wall pictures come down for Christmas decorations.  I love the festive look, but the tear down is not fun.

IMG_8240

I know I make it more work than is should be, because it is when I do Spring/Fall Cleaning.  Do you remember those days in your past life.  I was a good farm wife.  The whole house got scrubbed twice a year.

 

IMG_8239

Now it never all gets done, but a lot happens in January after Christmas gets all packed up.  Every nick-knack, or should I say “Collection” as to sound less junky, gets a good washing.  All wood furniture gets a good lemon  oil treatment.  Every picture frame also gets a clean up.  It really looks nice when it is all done.  But it takes so much longer than it did 20 years ago.

wood-storm-window

It could be worse as I remember my childhood and the storm window/ screen switch.  I had five brothers so at least one of them had to help.  There was a lot of scrubbing taking place twice a year.  In fact when we were first married we did this.  Thankfully windows gradually got replaced in the old farm house.

post_wallpaper

My mom told stories about the spring wallpapering.  The old furnaces produced enough smoke that a lot of wallpaper was replaced each spring.  Actually it was just covered up as they did not strip off the old paper.  I learned this lesson in the old farm house as I once started tearing off wallpaper and plaster came with it.  You just added another layer and it helped with the insulation issue.

I have shared this all to make myself thankful that housekeeping has really become easier over time.  It also has been a great procrastination as I still have work to do in our lower level.

IMG_8242

This is were my large design wall is and I covered it with red and white quilts for Christmas.  You might also notice some Nativity flannel graph on the wall.  I get it out for the grands to play Sunday School while here. I add this picture so this quilt blog will have a few quits in the post.

Now I get to go into my sewing room!  I have pillow cases to iron as I finish up cleaning up the guest rooms.

May you enjoy some sewing moments this winter.

Leave a Reply

