January In Iowa

After a major snow

After a major snow

Welcome to Iowa. In January it means snow and lot of it. A couple of my grandson’s had a fun time in it.  I do not.  I have a long driveway which has a hill and a couple curves. Of course stranded at home can have some real positives; undisturbed sewing time.  I can do it in my PJ’s as no one will be coming to my door.

12640423_1342711775746389_7870515003405691583_o

In an election year, January in Iowa means politics.  It is always a meaningful event to attend ones caucus.  I always appreciate my country and its freedom when I participate.

What I want to share today is a couple quilt projects “Go’ng to the Quilter”. (think of the tune of Going to the Chapel)  The first quilt is not mine.

Mary Martin's Blue Ribbon Quilt

Mary Martin’s Blue Ribbon Quilt

This was an entry in the Des Moines Area Quilt Show by Mary Martin.  It earned a blue ribbon and my attention.  “I want to do something like this.”  I actually shopped at the show’s venders with that in mind.

A quilt for the newest grandson

A quilt for the newest grandson

January provided the stay at home time to play with the concept. I ran out of letters and characters so that I could not do it quite as centered as Mary’s.  I also had to be realistic to make it baby size. It was fun to play with the block planning on quiet days in January.

IMG_2943

My guess is that I am not the only quilter who accidentally discovers UFOs when hunting for something else.  When I discovered this in a closet, I could not recall it at all.  It was shorter than it is now as you see it. It was about the size of a baby quilt, but it isn’t baby style.  What was I thinking?  I went to the brown fabric box.  Could I find more of the two brown fabrics? Yes!  I had to do a little piecing of the triangles, but I was able to put together enough to make it my ‘snuggle on the sofa’ size.

IMG_3055

Then I faintly remembered some border fabric that had some cheddar in the color way, and I did some more hunting. There was not enough to do miter corners and I really didn’t want to try to get the paisleys in the right spots.  Making cornerstones took about as much time, but they didn’t take as much brain power as mitering does.

I should mention that it is a scrap quilt and I try to make one each year.  Do I have 2016 covered?  Or should it be a past year’s?

If you do go out in Iowa in January you better dress warm. My small group made these scarves at our Christmas party. I happen to wear mine at the fabric shop where I had bought the fake fur.   Two clerks asked me if I had made it and wanted to know how! How fun!

IMG_2938 (1)

Now it is February and I can foresee another month of a lot of sewing. Yea!

Leave a Reply

