Traveling with Quilters

Wow, I have admired Di Ford’s quilts for a long time. Now I saw that she was to be one of the teachers on a cruise ship; a Mediterannian cruise at that. I have wanted to visit the countries in that region. I could take two items off the bucket list in one trip.

Di Ford with Me

Di Ford with Me

I found Di to be such a charming lady, in addition to a great quilt instructor.  She wanted each one of us to be successful.  I would get to be under her inspiration for the four days at sea.

Our first challenge was needle turn Brodery Perse. I have done it with a blanket stitch in the past. Now I learned how to make a beautiful urn with three different fabrics before I even started putting a flower arrangement together.

My Urn

My Urn

Di helped me see the potential of the fabrics I had brought along. I will say that bringing fabric was a challenge. I wanted appropriate clothes, sewing supplies, and empty space for shopping at seven ports! How much fabric could I pack? I settled for small pieces of many fabrics.

I should add that I was not even laying out the urn fabric in the direction that gave it the appearance of a curved shape. All the small tips became big learning opportunities.

In the above photo you get a glimpse of my stem fabric.  I learned that it did not have to be green.  What a profound bit of wisdom.  I have had the center floral arrangement on my design wall for over a year.  I did not proceed as there was something wrong with it.  Instantly I knew what it was; the green stems want to dominate the arrangement.

img_4559

I have appliquéd in the past, but it is not my favorite part of quilting.  However, once I was home I could not put it down until it was done.  Of course being travel weary is a good excuse to do some sitting.

Now about that shopping space I left in the suitcase:  Our first port was in France and we were bused to a linen/fabric store.  Deb Roberts is in the photo of the shop.  She is the travel planner for this trip.  I have been on two others of her trips.  She always find great places for us to see.

img_4175

The shop itself was mainly linens and they were lovely, but we were allowed into the back room!  But even better, we were taken to the warehouse.  And then the basement of the warehouse!

img_4176

The fabric sold for 9 eros/meter.  With a minimum cut of 3 meters.  Another gal and I split three different fabrics.  Back at the ship we cut them lengthwise to get the longest borders possible.

img_4177

Did I mention that I love border fabric?

Now the fabric I will be searching for has the appearance of rope.  That way I can continue with the medallion quilt.

img_4287

I have shopped locally for it already, so I will have to expand my search.  Of course what Di used is no longer on the market, so I will have to be satisfied with something else.

The above quilt is named “Jane’s Garden”  and the pattern will be in Di’s new book.  The quilt did not return to Australia with Di Ford.  Rather it went to France with Carol of Quilt Mania to be photographed for the book.

The AQS show comes to Des Moines, Iowa next month and it will provide me with a lot of shopping opportunities.

My second class will have to wait for my next posting.  marge

 

 

 

 

One response

  1. Hi Marge – just finished reading your blog! It was wonderful, don’t think that style will ever be for me (but who knows), but I sure enjoy feasting my eyes on the wonder of it all and your incredible patience. Had a wonderful afternoon, so glad we could get together. Carol

Leave a Reply

